small text medium text large text

Art Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

Art Full Text + Art Index Retrospective
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Index to articles from art, architecture & design magazines, back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (within FirstSearch)
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. Updated weekly.
ArtFact
NO Remote Access
Auction records for antiques & collectibles, used by the experts on the Antiques Roadshow
Artnet.com: Price Database
NO Remote Access
Auction records (1985-present) for fine arts.
Oxford Art Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.