small text medium text large text

Magazine and Newspaper Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

Magazines

Academic OneFile
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
CUFTS
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
JSTOR
Library Access
(CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
Search full-text archives of many core scholarly journals, particularly in the humanities, social sciences & music.
MasterFILE Premier
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.
OmniFile Mega (HW Wilson)
Multi-disciplinary full-text database covering Art, Education, Social Science, the Humanities, Business, Science, Current Events, and more. Contains Indexing and Abstracting of 4000 journals, with Full Text from more than 2500 journals. Includes Full Text from 1995 forward, and Indexing from 1982 forward.
OmniFile Full Text Select (HW Wilson)
100% full-text multi-disciplinary database Art, Education, Social Science, the Humanities, Business, Science, Current Events, and more.
EBSCO EJS (Electronic Journal Service)
NO Remote Access
Citations, with some abstracts & full text, for approximately 200 scholarly journals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
For over 100 years, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature has become the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press, has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and has been hailed by Library Journal as one of the "50 Best Reference Sources for the Millennium." All the information from 44 Readers' Guide annuals in a single database that you can search easily and precisely; access to over 3 million article citations from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer reviewed.
Readers' Guide Select (HW Wilson)
Full-text database containing indexing, abstracting, and full text of 200 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.

Newspapers

Barrons ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
View Barrons in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
CUFTS
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
Infotrac Newsstand
This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.
The Jewish Criterion
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project from the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries features The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962). Two other Jewish newspapers, The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) will be added to the PJN database.
New York Times ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
View the New York Times in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Newspaper Archive
Library Access
(CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
The Pittsburgh Catholic
Duquesne University is converting its microfilm collection of the Pittsburgh Catholic to digital. Currently, the first 10 years covering from March 16, 1844 through 1864 are available by browsing or searching the full-text.
The Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Website Search
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
View the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
Tribune-Review Website Search
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
USA Today ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
View USA Today in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
Wall Street Journal ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
View the Wall Street Journal in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.