small text medium text large text

Quick Facts Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary
NO Remote Access
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.
Oxford Reference Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full-text entries from over 100 encyclopedias and dictionaries on subjects such as art, history, languages, literature, philosophy, quotations, science, and more.

General Reference

Access PA POWER Library
Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 21 of the databases listed here.
Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries.
African American Experience
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Associations Unlimited
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
CUFTS
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Online reference books.
Oxford Reference Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full-text entries from over 100 encyclopedias and dictionaries on subjects such as art, history, languages, literature, philosophy, quotations, science, and more.
Reference Universe
NO Remote Access
Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 designated reference titles, and then indicates which titles are in the collection at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Library. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions. Reference Universe places the reference collection of Carnegie Library’s Main Library at your fingertips and is updated monthly.
The World Almanac for Kids Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
The World Almanac Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
This online version of the World Almanac provides facts and statistics on topics ranging from economics to pop culture, history to current events.
WorldCat
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Search the holdings of over 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and we don't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan.
Non-CLP cardholders: Search WorldCat