small text medium text large text

Research Databases for
History, Cultures & Social Studies

See also: Government & Law and Current Topics & Controversies.

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

Academic OneFile
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
African American Experience
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full text information on African American history and culture.
American History in Video
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Log in to watch historic newsreels, award-winning PBS shows, History Channel content and more directly in your web browser. Browse by historical subject/era or search for specific topics. Also includes video transcripts and specialized playlists, as well as the option to create your own list of historical favorites.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides unbiased coverage of current issues, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist providing an overview, chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con viewpoints of opposing positions; and supporting data including bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher archive includes more than 3,000 reports published between 1923 and 1990.
FOLD3
History and Genealogy Archives
(formerly Footnote)
Pennsylvania Department ONLY
NO Remote Access
Only available in the Pennsylvania Department of the Main Library. To access FOLD3 use the desktop icon on Pennsylvania Department PC's in the Main Libray.
Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served, as well as access to naturalization records/indexes, city directories, historical newspapers and more. The Fold3 name comes from a traditional flag folding ceremony in which the third fold is made in honor and remembrance of veterans who served in defense of their country and to maintain peace throughout the world.
Global Issues in Context
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Historic Pittsburgh Available to anyone
A digital collection for Pittsburgh history, including full-text books, digital images & maps, census records, & a timeline.
Newspaper Archive
Library Access
(CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
Salem History
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Salem History provides full-text digital access to primary source documents and reference resources from prehistory through the present day. Historical fields covered include religion, sports, American history, world history, and interdisciplinary biographies.
U.S. History in Context
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
The World Almanac for Kids Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
The World Almanac Online
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
This online version of the World Almanac provides facts and statistics on topics ranging from economics to pop culture, history to current events.
World History in Context
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.